Business loans NZ: what they cost

See what a business loan costs each week and all up, then have a licensed broker check which lenders would back you.

$271 a week

$70,571 paid back in total

Have a broker check my options

Estimate for $50,000 over 5 years at MTF Finance's 14.00% unsecured rate, fees added, checked 21 Oct 2026. Fees and conditions are below.

Racks of mince-and-cheese pies cooling at 5am in a small Papatoetoe bakery while the baker slides another tray into the deck oven

What would a business loan cost me?

Put in the amount, the term and the rate you've been quoted, and you'll see each repayment, the total and the interest.

For extra repayments or a full schedule, use the full loan calculator. Nothing you type leaves your screen unless you send the enquiry form.

Business loan calculator

$271 a week

Total repayable $70,571

Total interest $19,739

Paid off in October 2031 if you start this month.

Or $543 a fortnight, $1,180 a month.

The rate you're offered depends on how long you've traded, your cash flow and any security. A licensed broker can check which lenders would consider your business.

Ask a broker what rate I'd get

$2,000–$1,000,000.

Loan term

3 months to 10 years.

How often you repay

BNZ offers weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments; Prospa repays weekly.

Optional. Paying extra each time shortens the loan and cuts the interest. Ask the lender about any early repayment fee.

Repayment type

Interest-only repayments do not reduce the loan; principal and interest repayments start when the interest-only period ends.

Starts at MTF Finance's lowest unsecured rate with its $380 fee. Change it to the rate you're quoted. Change it to the rate a lender quotes you.

A starting rate to try (not your rate)
  • Harmoney's lowest rate, on a personal loan in your own name ($150 fee)
  • MTF Finance's lowest secured rate
  • MTF Finance's lowest unsecured rate
  • Lending Crowd's highest advertised rate

Advertised rates checked 21 Oct 2026. Change the rate to the one a lender quotes you.

Establishment fee

Harmoney charges $150, Lending Crowd $450–$1,500 and Prospa 3%–4% of the loan. Added to the loan.

A fee added to the loan is borrowed too, so interest is charged on it.

MTF Finance charges about $8 a month.

Estimate only, not a quote or an approval. Your rate depends on your credit and the lender. Rates checked 21 Oct 2026.

I've been quoted a factor rate

A factor rate makes a loan look cheaper than it is. A $50,000 advance at a 1.25 factor over 12 months costs $12,500, which sounds like 25% but works out at 45.67% p.a., because the balance falls every week while the charge doesn't.

For example 1.25

How often

$1,202 a week Repayment

$62,500 Paid back in total

$12,500 Cost of the loan

45.67% p.a. As a yearly rate

See if a broker can beat this quote

What does a business loan cost per year?

Where a lender publishes a rate, business loans run from 7.99% to 25.95% p.a., plus set-up fees of $150 to $1,500. The lowest is Harmoney's, a personal loan taken out in your own name. On $50,000 over 5 years, that's the difference between paying back $60,871 and $92,053.

The banks don't publish an all-in business rate. ANZ, ASB and BNZ add a margin for your business to a base rate (ASB's is 11.47% p.a.), and Westpac and Kiwibank quote each loan, so you see the real rate only in the offer. Fast lenders such as Prospa and Bizcap publish no rate at all.

LenderRate (p.a.)FeeEach weekPaid back in total
Harmoney (personal loan)7.99%–24.99% p.a.7.99%–24.99%$150$234–$338$60,871–$87,948
Lending Crowd8.95%–25.95% p.a.8.95%–25.95%$450–$1,500$241–$354$62,620–$92,053
MTF Finance (secured)10.55%–22.55% p.a.10.55%–22.55%$380$251–$325$65,346–$84,577
MTF Finance (unsecured)14.00%–24.00% p.a.14.00%–24.00%$380$271–$335$70,571–$87,069
Prospa (its own example)31% p.a.31%3%–4%$394$102,444

$50,000 over 5 years, weekly, at the bottom and top of each published range with the set-up fee added; Prospa publishes no rate, so its row uses Prospa's own calculator example of 31% and a 4% fee. Rates from Harmoney, Lending Crowd, MTF Finance and Prospa, checked 21 Oct 2026; ANZ, ASB, BNZ, Westpac, Kiwibank, Bizcap and ScotPac publish no business loan rate.

See which lenders would back my business

What does a $50,000 business loan cost a week?

At 14.00% p.a., MTF Finance's lowest unsecured rate, $50,000 over 5 years costs you $271 a week and $70,571 all up, fees included.

A shorter term costs more each week and less overall. Over 3 years it's $398 a week, and you pay back $8,535 less. Pick the shortest term your cash flow can carry in a slow month.

Loan at 14.00% p.a.Each weekPaid back in total
$30,000 over 3 years$240$37,517
$50,000 over 1 year$1,041$54,147
$50,000 over 3 years$398$62,036
$50,000 over 5 years$271$70,571
$100,000 over 5 years$539$140,161

Estimate only, not a quote or an approval. Your rate depends on your credit and the lender. Rates checked 21 Oct 2026.

Ask a broker what rate I'd get
A ute hitched to a trailer carrying a mini-digger in a frosty Hamilton yard at dawn, the owner walking to the shed with a thermos

What types of business loans are there in NZ?

There are seven main kinds, and the right one depends on what the money is for. A one-off purchase suits a term loan. A short gap in cash flow suits an overdraft or a line of credit, slow-paying customers suit invoice finance, and a machine or vehicle suits asset finance.

A work vehicle can also go on a car loan: see car finance.

TypeHow it worksGood forWho offers it
Term loanA lump sum repaid over a set termFit-outs, stock, equipmentBanks, MTF, Harmoney, Lending Crowd
OverdraftA limit on your business accountWages and bills between paymentsAll five banks
Line of creditDraw, repay and draw againRepeated short gapsProspa, Bizcap
Invoice financeAn advance on unpaid invoicesCustomers on 30–90 day termsScotPac, BNZ
Asset financeA loan secured on what you buyPlant, machinery, utes, trucksASB, BNZ, Kiwibank, Westpac, MTF
Property-secured loanSecured on a home or other propertyLarger amounts at bank ratesANZ, ASB, Bizcap
Short-term unsecured loanRepaid daily or weekly over monthsUrgent cash flowBizcap, Prospa, ScotPac

Bank or non-bank business loan?

A bank is usually cheaper if your business has a trading record. A non-bank lender accepts a shorter record and decides faster, and you pay for that speed: Prospa's own example assumes 31% p.a., while ASB's base rate is 11.47% p.a. before its margin.

Westpac is the exception among the banks, lending to businesses trading under two years if you bring a plan and a forecast.

What differsBanksNon-bank lenders
Trading historyUsually 1–2 years4 to 12 months
The rateBase rate plus a margin, or a quoteA published range, or a quote only
SecurityProperty, business assets or a GSAOften none upfront
SpeedBNZ QuickBiz: within two business daysProspa: often within an hour
RepaymentsWeekly, fortnightly or monthlyWeekly, sometimes daily

Each lender's stated criteria, checked 21 Oct 2026. Banks: ANZ, ASB, BNZ, Westpac, Kiwibank. Non-bank lenders: Prospa, Bizcap, MTF Finance, Lending Crowd, Harmoney, ScotPac.

Secured or unsecured business loan?

A secured loan costs less, because the lender can sell the property, vehicle or equipment if you can't pay. At MTF Finance, secured rates start at 10.55% p.a. against 14.00% p.a. unsecured. Lending Crowd's secured loans top out at 23.78% p.a., against 25.95% p.a. across all its business loans.

An unsecured loan can still reach you personally. Most unsecured lenders ask directors for a personal guarantee, so if the business can't pay, the lender can come after you and, through a court judgment, your home.

Does a business loan put my house at risk?

It can, even when the loan isn't secured on it. Prospa lends up to $150,000, BNZ QuickBiz up to $100,000 and ANZ goBiz up to $250,000 without property, but larger bank loans usually want it. Watch for:

  • a mortgage over your home, which lets the lender sell it if the business defaults;
  • a personal guarantee, which makes you liable for the company's debt;
  • a general security agreement (GSA), which covers the business's assets, and your home only if you also sign a guarantee or mortgage.

Before you sign a guarantee, ask the lender to cap it, give it an end date and leave the family home out, and get independent legal advice. The lender doesn't have to agree.

Before opening at a small café in Petone: chairs still upturned on the tables while the owner carries the first one toward the front window

What do you need for a business loan?

Most lenders ask for the same things; how long you need to have traded is what differs. Have these ready:

  • your NZBN and IRD number;
  • recent business bank statements;
  • financial statements, or your Xero or MYOB data;
  • GST returns and turnover;
  • a cash-flow forecast and what the loan is for (and a business plan if you're starting out);
  • photo ID for each director, and details of any security.
LenderTradingTurnoverWhat they read
ANZ goBiz2 yearsNot statedTwo years of MYOB or Xero accounts
BNZ QuickBiz12 monthsNot stated12 months of reconciled accounts
Kiwibank Fast Capital12 monthsNot statedXero or MYOB, plus a credit check
Westpac start-upUnder 2 yearsNot statedBusiness plan and cash forecast
Prospa6 monthsOver $6,000 a monthBank statements or a bank link
Bizcap4 months$12,000 a monthNZBN and bank statements
ScotPac Boost12 months$10,000 a month6 months of bank statements

From each lender's page, checked 21 Oct 2026.

Before you apply, ask yourself the question business.govt.nz suggests: "Can I afford the repayments, even during slow months and at tax time?"

Can a start-up get a business loan?

Yes, but from fewer lenders, and usually with a plan, a forecast and some security. Westpac has set aside $100m for businesses trading under two years and asks for a business plan and cash forecast instead of two years of accounts. Most others want a record first: 4 months at Bizcap, 6 at Prospa, 12 at ScotPac and two years at ANZ goBiz.

If you haven't started trading, the usual route is borrowing in your own name, such as a personal loan or a home loan top-up. That puts your own credit and your home behind the business. See personal loans.

Can I get a business loan to pay IRD?

You can, but talk to Inland Revenue first. An IRD instalment arrangement lets you pay overdue tax "weekly, fortnightly, or monthly", and keeping to it "may stop us taking further collection action". IRD charges interest and penalties on overdue tax, and can write off penalties in some cases.

If you do borrow, compare the loan with the IRD arrangement on the yearly rate, the fees and the total. Watch out for factor rates here: a 1.15 factor repaid weekly over 6 months works out at 55.34% p.a.

Which protections apply to business loans?

Fewer than on a personal loan. Most consumer credit rules don't cover a loan for business, so you don't get:

  • the lender's duty to check you can afford it;
  • consumer disclosure and a few days to cancel;
  • hardship applications or the cap on high-cost loans;
  • the protections for guarantors of a personal loan.

You still have some cover. A court can reopen an oppressive contract or strike out unfair terms in a small business contract, the lender must not mislead you, and a free dispute scheme such as the Banking Ombudsman takes complaints.

Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Act 2003 (ss 11, 13, 14, Part 1A, ss 118–120); Fair Trading Act 1986 s 26C, for contracts under $250,000 a year; Financial Markets Conduct Act 2013 Part 2. A personal loan used for business may still be consumer credit, depending on its use and any business-purpose declaration.

How does a business loan broker help?

A broker shops around the banks and non-bank lenders for you and tells you what each option would cost all up. Compare Loans doesn't lend money or give financial advice.

  1. 1

    Send the form with the amount, your region and how long you've traded. It never asks for income, IRD numbers, ID or credit history.

  2. 2

    The broker calls at the time you choose and asks about the purpose, your turnover and any security.

  3. 3

    They check which banks and lenders on their panel would consider your business, and explain the rate, fees, guarantee and total for each.

  4. 4

    You apply to one lender through the broker. The lender runs its own checks before any offer.

What else do people ask about business loans?

What is the easiest business loan to get approved for?

The lenders with the lowest bar are also the dearest. Bizcap asks for 4 months of trading and $12,000 a month in revenue, and Prospa for 6 months and over $6,000 a month, but neither publishes a rate and Prospa's own example assumes 31% p.a. BNZ QuickBiz and Kiwibank Fast Capital want 12 months of accounts and ANZ goBiz two years, at bank rates.

How much can a small business borrow in NZ?

Anywhere from $2,000 to $4,000,000, depending on the lender and your security. Without security the limits are lower: $100,000 at Harmoney and BNZ QuickBiz, $150,000 at Prospa and $250,000 at ANZ goBiz. Lenders size the loan on your turnover and cash flow.

How do I get a $1,000,000 business loan?

Usually from a bank or a property-secured lender, with security and full accounts. Kiwibank's Fast Capital takes online applications up to $1,000,000 with 12 months of Xero or MYOB data, and Bizcap's secured loans go to $4,000,000 against property. ANZ goBiz caps online lending at $500,000 secured.

Is business loan interest tax deductible in NZ?

Generally yes: interest on money borrowed for the business is a deductible expense, though the loan itself isn't. Fees may be treated differently, so ask your accountant how your loan's interest and fees are handled.

Will a business loan affect my personal credit?

It will if you're personally on the hook: as a sole trader, with a personal loan used for the business (Harmoney's business loans are in your own name), or through a director's guarantee. Kiwibank checks credit history for Fast Capital, and Bizcap gets a credit report before an unconditional offer.

Is there a $5,000 small business grant in NZ?

No, there's no general $5,000 grant for small businesses, and a grant isn't a loan. Government support goes to particular purposes, regions or industries, and business.govt.nz lists what's open. IRD's COVID-19 Small Business Cashflow Scheme is closed to new applications.

Can I repay a business loan early?

Yes, at all five lenders whose terms Compare Loans read, though three charge for it. Prospa adds 1.5% of what's left, Kiwibank charges $250 if a loan over three years is repaid within three years, and Westpac and Kiwibank charge break costs on fixed loans. Harmoney charges nothing, and Bizcap gives a discount for settling early.

Does a longer term make a business loan cheaper?

No. A longer term makes each repayment smaller and the total bigger. At 14.00% p.a., before fees, $50,000 costs $1,709 a month and $61,520 in total over 3 years, $1,163 a month and $69,805 over 5 years, and $937 a month and $78,708 over 7 years, so the two extra years cost you $8,903.

Want a broker to check your options?

Answer three short questions and a licensed broker checks which banks and lenders would consider your business.

Compare Loans refers you to a licensed broker and is paid a referral fee by the broker. This is not a loan application. How Compare Loans makes money

About how much?